Jesse Patton Spirit of HUPAC Award

The Spirit of HUPAC Award, now named the Jesse Patton Spirit of HUPAC Award, is an award that is given to an NAHU member that has shown his/her commitment to HUPAC in extraordinary ways.  The commitment surpasses contributions, it is support through actions and words as well that benefit HUPAC.   If you feel that someone embodies the “Spirit of HUPAC” please submit a description of why you think someone should be awarded this prestigious award. Submissions should be sent to HUPAC Manager Nathan Makla at

Jesse Patton was one of HUPAC’s first Triple Diamond Capitol Club Contributors. A former two term National HUPAC Chair, National Legislative Council Chair and recipient of NAHU’s Distinguished Service Award. He was the youngest member inducted into the Iowa Insurance Hall of Fame and received IAHU’s highest honor, the Legacy Award. Jesse was a Past President of the Iowa Association of Health Underwriters and a frequent speaker at continuing education events in Iowa and surrounding states. One of his most memorable experiences was working alongside President George W. Bush in a press conference regarding affordable health care in Bethesda, MD in 2005. Jesse loved politics both locally and nationally and developed a great friendship with former House Speaker Newt Gingrich and Iowa United States Senator Charles Grassley. Jesse enjoyed life, had a great sense of humor and could be quite the prankster. He will be remembered for his tireless devotion to NAHU and HUPAC always looking for ways to increase membership and add new contributors to HUPAC.

Past Winners: 

  1. Donald Goldmann - 2021

  2. Jesse Patton - 2020

  3. Karl Albrecht – 2019

  4. Candius Stearns - 2018

  5. Mike Embry - 2017